Transfer to Chicago, bidding questions

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
sundance1988

Transfer to Chicago, bidding questions

Postby sundance1988 » Fri Jul 22, 2011 6:07 pm

Hey all. I'm transferring to Chicago from UCLA. Have just over a 3.7 from UCLA (somewhere in the top 10% I think). I'm trying to plan out bidding strategy and would love some (much needed) advice. I have a degree in finance from a top UG and worked at a mutual fund after 1L, so I'm looking at securities (non-litigation). I have pretty strong ties to both NY and LA.

1. S&C (NY)
2. Simpson Thacher (NY)
3. Davis Polk (NY)
4. Gibson (LA)
5. Latham (LA)
6. OMM (LA)
7. Cleary (NY)
8. Skadden (NY)
9. Debevoise
10.Sidley (NY)
11. Kirkland (NY)
12. MoFo (NY)

Too aggressive? Missing anything? Need to move stuff around?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Helmholtz

Re: Transfer to Chicago, bidding questions

Postby Helmholtz » Fri Jul 22, 2011 6:20 pm

sundance1988 wrote:Hey all. I'm transferring to Chicago from UCLA. Have just over a 3.7 from UCLA (somewhere in the top 10% I think). I'm trying to plan out bidding strategy and would love some (much needed) advice. I have a degree in finance from a top UG and worked at a mutual fund after 1L, so I'm looking at securities (non-litigation). I have pretty strong ties to both NY and LA.

1. S&C (NY)
2. Simpson Thacher (NY)
3. Davis Polk (NY)
4. Gibson (LA)
5. Latham (LA)
6. OMM (LA)
7. Cleary (NY)
8. Skadden (NY)
9. Debevoise
10.Sidley (NY)
11. Kirkland (NY)
12. MoFo (NY)