How to get an intership as an undergrad?

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
dsosah

How to get an intership as an undergrad?

Postby dsosah » Thu Jul 07, 2011 7:40 pm

Hello, I'm an undergraduate student and I'm getting ready to apply to law school. I know that doing an internship in a legal office is a great plus when applying for law school, and that it's great experience to learn what real legal work is about. However I have been looking on the internet and there doesn't seems to be a whole lot of info on where to apply for legal internships. Furthermore everything I find on the internet seems to be aimed at current law students. I haven't been able to go through my school because I'm in the process of transferring to another university, but I would like to start looking before I start classes again. Can anyone tell me any websites/places I can go to find internships?

bk1

Re: How to get an intership as an undergrad?

Postby bk1 » Thu Jul 07, 2011 7:42 pm

dsosah wrote:I know that doing an internship in a legal office is a great plus when applying for law school

No it's not.

Verity

Postby Verity » Thu Jul 07, 2011 7:45 pm

Unless you have tappable connections, Monster it up.

By the way, interning at a law firm isn't nearly the best way to spend your time, if you want to beef up the resume. Law schools want to see something interesting and unique (and impressive). Joining the Peace Corps, Teach for America, founding a non-profit...those are good examples.

Mickey Quicknumbers