How do you figure it out?

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
313D313

How do you figure it out?

Postby 313D313 » Sun Jun 19, 2011 1:08 pm

I am an 0L and will be starting law school this fall. I currently work as a paralegal at a very successful personal injury firm. I am the head paralegal in the litigation department and responsible for Discovery. Also, because the majority of the clientele speak arabic only and our attorneys speak english, i attend arbitrations, facilitations, depositions, motions in court, etc. The firm is very busy and the workload is huge. I work six days a week otherwise i will fall behind big time.

I do not "love" my work but i do not hate it either. However, i know how demanding being a lawyer is and if i end up in a practice field i find boring i will not be able to do it. The problem is, you do not know the nit and grit of the work a practice field requires unless you actually do it. This has me really worried about the type of law i will eventually practice.

Anything i can do now so i can maybe explore what is out there? How do you explore when you are in law school? Is it only through your summer jobs or...?

313D313

Re: How do you figure it out?

Postby 313D313 » Sun Jun 19, 2011 7:40 pm

Bump

Any thoughts....?

CanadianWolf

Postby CanadianWolf » Sun Jun 19, 2011 9:06 pm

Often, money is a great motivator---as are bills such as student loans. If you get bored, then let your creditors rekindle the passion for your profession.

313D313