Re PD / crim track

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
woej0001

Re PD / crim track

Postby woej0001 » Tue May 24, 2011 2:47 am

This is precisely what I want to do as well. Academically, I have taken evidence, crim pro 1 (booked it) and 2 (adjudication and "police"), and criminal. I am a lowish level editor on LR and am currently top 10%. I started clerking for a small private firm last fall crushing out motions, interviewing clients from time to time, and sporadically watching court proceedings. I then did the clinic at PD for this past spring in misdemeanor full time for 12 credits. I was more or less the unofficial attorney of record (I did everything from initial contact through trial) for about 60-70 clients at a time and did 5 trials (4 jury and 1 bench) and 5 or 6 major motion hearings. I am now back at my crim firm and taking some summer class. I got in with the misdemeanor chief and he said I can take one of his trials as first chair doing the entire thing about once per month when his rotation comes around. I should be able to get some stuff off a few other misdemeanor attorneys there as well. My school is ranked about #50. As a rising 3L any advice to further this career track?
Last edited by woej0001 on Wed May 25, 2011 4:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

woej0001

Re: Re PD / crim track

Postby woej0001 » Tue May 24, 2011 2:48 am

Oops pushed the wrong button. Mod delete? I'll post in the proper place. Sorry, late and kinda drunk *_*

Gideon Strumpet

Re: Re PD / crim track