Big Law Litigation and Salary vs. Decent Quality of Life

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
AlanShoreDisciple

Big Law Litigation and Salary vs. Decent Quality of Life

Postby AlanShoreDisciple » Tue Apr 19, 2011 8:29 pm

Hey, I'm an undergrad who is pretty set on a legal career and I've heard a lot of negative things about Biglaw Litigation.

Two Questions:

Do you think it is worth going the biglaw route for a career in litigation?

Is there any possibility of balancing good pay without getting completely worked to death by your firm?

patrickd139

Re: Big Law Litigation and Salary vs. Decent Quality of Life

Postby patrickd139 » Tue Apr 19, 2011 8:52 pm

Redundancy is redundant.

PKSebben

Postby PKSebben » Tue Apr 19, 2011 8:58 pm

AlanShoreDisciple wrote:Hey, I'm an undergrad who is pretty set on a legal career and I've heard a lot of negative things about Biglaw Litigation.

Two Questions:

Is there any possibility of balancing good pay without getting completely worked to death by your firm?

Question 1) I'm not sure what you are asking. Biglaw as opposed to... high impact public interest shop? mythical midlaw? small law? mass tort plaintiffs law? I'm a biglaw litigator. What do you want to know?

Question 2) The hours suck in biglaw. It's not completely overwhelming, but long hours doing tedious work for pedants certainly sucks. There is also the unshakable feeling that you are basically an unproductive drain on the economy.

JPrezy87

Postby JPrezy87 » Tue Apr 19, 2011 9:18 pm

PKSebben wrote: