SAUSA positions

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

SAUSA positions

Postby Anonymous User » Sat Mar 26, 2011 8:20 pm

Not sure how many practicing attorneys, let alone prosecutors, there are on here, but...

I'm a midlevel attorney who badly wants to be a federal prosecutor. My law school (Stanford), federal district/circuit clerkships, and V5 firm experience are solid. But I don't have criminal practice experience. And of course, in this market, AUSA positions would be few and far between even if I'd been eating/breathing/sleeping criminal law all along. I could live on my savings for about a year and am willing to do so IF that would get me the paid position that I really want.

Enter the SAUSA option. For those who don't know, many USAOs have been "hiring" junior/midlevel attorneys for one-year unpaid stints, with (of course) no official guarantee of being hired afterwards. I'm told that although you generally can't be hired immediately by the office for which you "volunteered," many SAUSAs manage to move laterally to another USAO immediately after the SAUSA term. In the worst case scenario (not being hired at the end of the SAUSA term by a USAO), it seems as though the experience would likely make you quite competitive in a year or two, and would be "transferable" back to the private sector were it absolutely necessary to return there.