Gap Year-how to get legal experience?

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Gap Year-how to get legal experience?

Postby Anonymous User » Fri Mar 25, 2011 5:02 pm

Hello, I am living in NYC and I want legal experience. I am applying to law school this Fall 2011, so I will be entering Fall 2012 or so. I'd like some exposure in the legal field, and I'd be happy making min wage, as long as I get some payment. I have FT work experience (call center) and I am currently a paid PT intern, but no legal experience and it seems that for all the searches that I do for legal secretary, paralegal, legal assistant etc, they want someone with 5+ years of experience. I have friends who say that they know people who got those jobs without any experience in the legal field, but I can't seem to find those? Any tips please-good websites to check out, places to call?
The temp agencies I call have nothing for me so far.

Kabuo

Re: Gap Year-how to get legal experience?

Postby Kabuo » Fri Mar 25, 2011 5:06 pm

Pretty interested in this. Right now deciding between Wash U and working a year as a substitute teacher with lots of volunteer work. This would be better in a lot of ways I think.

paratactical

Postby paratactical » Fri Mar 25, 2011 5:07 pm