Advantage of passing Patent Bar?

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Advantage of passing Patent Bar?

Postby Anonymous User » Fri Jan 28, 2011 8:26 pm

I graduated undergrad without an engineering/science degree, but I took a lot of relevant coursework. I just found out that under Category B I might qualify to sit for the Patent Bar. The problem is it sounds like a pain in the butt as I'd have to get ahold of the undergrad course descriptions from way back when, and my school's website doesn't have them all posted. That and they might say not all of my coursework qualifies.

I'm top 10% at MVP (only one semester though). Didn't necessarily see myself being in IP because I didn't think I could do the Patent Bar. Any advantage to going for it, as opposed to just telling prospective employers I had a bunch of undergrad classes in engineering and science?

thwalls

Re: Advantage of passing Patent Bar?

Postby thwalls » Fri Jan 28, 2011 10:00 pm

Anonymous User wrote:I graduated undergrad without an engineering/science degree, but I took a lot of relevant coursework. I just found out that under Category B I might qualify to sit for the Patent Bar. The problem is it sounds like a pain in the butt as I'd have to get ahold of the undergrad course descriptions from way back when, and my school's website doesn't have them all posted. That and they might say not all of my coursework qualifies.