Applications ignored by local DA's offices - any idea why?

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Nightsideclipse

Applications ignored by local DA's offices - any idea why?

Postby Nightsideclipse » Wed Jan 26, 2011 7:47 pm

Well, so much for trying out Criminal Law before delving into the civil side before graduating law school. I'm trying to reason why not one of the FIVE local DA's offices I applied to did not contact me for an interview -- all are hiring and some are even attending a career fair.

I am a transfer student, and I have good grades (top 5% at 1L school (#50ish) and top 10% at 2L school (#50ish too) and wrote solid cover letters that career services people said were adequate.

However, I am brand new to the part of the country where my school is located after living in a (very) distant state my whole life... Tried to explain why I transferred and want to stay in the state (even city) of my new 2L school in the cover letters.

I also suspect that my previous work history (academic tutor for athletic department for 4 years during college and summer) does not match up with the skills they expect. But still, with such good grades, I wonder why I didn't get a single interview.

Clean criminal record (not even sure if they back ground check for interview screening anyway) but no extra curriculars outside of a secondary journal.

1. Do DA's offices just not care about grades as much? I've taken Crim Law, Procedure, and am currently taking Evidence/Ethics.