How important is prior work experience for a firm job?

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
JimHalpert

How important is prior work experience for a firm job?

Postby JimHalpert » Tue Jan 18, 2011 6:32 pm

Junior in college here. I'm studying for the June LSAT and will take the October test only if June doesn't go well. I'm trying to decide whether or not I should go straight from UG or work first. I'd be open to a year off before law school (maximum 2 and only if it was a great opportunity). I'm a psychology major so I'm not very marketable, plus I don't really want to start a career in another industry knowing I want to bolt for law school anyway.

So, my question is...for employment prospects as a law student, am I at a big disadvantage coming out of undergrad without having spent time in the workforce? Is it worth the opportunity cost? Any other comments?

Thanks.

DoubleChecks

Re: How important is prior work experience for a firm job?

Postby DoubleChecks » Tue Jan 18, 2011 6:37 pm

JimHalpert wrote:Junior in college here. I'm studying for the June LSAT and will take the October test only if June doesn't go well. I'm trying to decide whether or not I should go straight from UG or work first. I'd be open to a year off before law school (maximum 2 and only if it was a great opportunity). I'm a psychology major so I'm not very marketable, plus I don't really want to start a career in another industry knowing I want to bolt for law school anyway.