Passion for Estate Planning... What to Do?

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Passion for Estate Planning... What to Do?

Postby Anonymous User » Wed Jan 05, 2011 12:25 am

Hey all. I'm a CPA and a current 2L. I just transferred from 2LE to 2L this month, so my career path is a bit messed up right now. I missed fall OCI since I was working at the time and never considered needing an internship in the summer of 2011, but now I'm a day student.

Don't know my most recent ranking yet, but I was better than top 10% after 1LE, and I'm at a school inside the Top 35 schools. Anyway, I discovered this most recent semester that I love estate planning. I took a course in it and I'm hooked- I get to draw from my CPA for the tax planning side, and I find wills and overall estate plans just really interesting. I also really like trusts, so it's safe to say that estate planning interests me.

I figure it's too late to get an internship this summer, but I'm still trying and making sure to point out my switch from the evening division to the day division. More importantly, though- how does one get involved in estate planning specifically at this point in law school? It seems like a pretty specific field- many of the firms I looked at have only a handful of people that specialize in the field. Do I just try for a general internship this summer and try to emphasize my enjoyment of the topic during OCI in the fall? I'll be taking more estate planning courses this spring and next year too.