Accounting/Auditing Litigation

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Accounting/Auditing Litigation

Postby Anonymous User » Mon Dec 06, 2010 11:45 am

I am a CPA with several years of Big 4 audit experience, set to pursue a career in law. As one of the possibilities, I want to explore the the field of audit litigation (auditor malpractice) and wanted to see if anyone here has some exposure to this area.

Is there a large legal market for audit litigation?
How hard is this market to enter and what would increase my chances in doing so?

Any other related information will be appreciated.

crazycanuck

Re: Accounting/Auditing Litigation

Postby crazycanuck » Mon Dec 06, 2010 4:45 pm

I would imagine it's pretty small and hard to break into.

Only major scandel that I can think of that required litigation was Arther Anderson. Usually if there is a case of malpractice there is just a restatement and the auditor gets fired.

Anonymous User

Postby Anonymous User » Mon Dec 06, 2010 9:02 pm

I am the OP.