Does it help having work experience before law school?

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Does it help having work experience before law school?

Postby Anonymous User » Sat Dec 04, 2010 1:22 am

I've read some posts that mostly say that WE does help quite a bit with getting a job after law school.

But does it help even if it's not one of those prestigious IB or consulting firms?

I mean does it help to have a couple of years of WE at places like Sony or Samsung?
(I'm an international student residing in Asia)

I'm asking this cuz I have a chance to work at one of these Fortune 500 (Global) companies in Asia, but I'm not sure about the pros and cons on postponing lawschool for later to work at one of these companies.

What are your thoughts?
Last edited by Anonymous User on Sat Dec 04, 2010 6:49 am, edited 1 time in total.

solidsnake

Re: Does it help having work experience before law school?

Postby solidsnake » Sat Dec 04, 2010 1:34 am

yes it helps. F500 experience is great, assuming you get decent responsibility and pay. All good talking points for interviews and will probably help calibrate your common sense, necessary for law school exam answers and something most kids under 25 lack.

Black-Blue

Postby Black-Blue » Sat Dec 04, 2010 1:50 am

If it's relevant to the position you're seeking, WE always help. For example, if you want to do international trade practice that relates to electronics, then your WE would help