Hypotheticals asked during District Attorney Interview Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
SYNESTER

New

Hypotheticals asked during District Attorney Interview

Post by SYNESTER » Wed Nov 24, 2010 2:40 pm

Hey guys - been a while since I posted here, glad to see the forum is still going strong.

Anyhow, I'm a third year student interviewing at one of the district attorneys office in New York- I have a second round interview coming up. During the second round, this particular DA's office uses a panel format asks several hypothetical questions.

So, i'm wondering if anyhow has been interviewed by a prosecutor's office and has any examples of the types of questions they have asked. I've done a pretty thorough job of looking online and am now looking for some personal anecdotes.

Cheers!

Silver

Re: Hypotheticals asked during District Attorney Interview

Post by 2807 » Wed Nov 24, 2010 2:50 pm

Hi. Sorry can't help. But for those of us who are aspiring to be in your position one day, can you give a few of the general hypo's you have heard already?

Thanks, and good luck to you.

Anonymous User

Post by Anonymous User » Wed Nov 24, 2010 4:29 pm

You're ADA on a case and offered the defendant a plea of five years, the defendant rejected it and wants to go to trial.
Night before trial, you get a call that your only witness just died of swine flu.
You come to court to tell the judge that you have to dismiss the case when defendant's lawyer approaches you and says that they'll take the deal.