Summer Employment (Transactional)

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Summer Employment (Transactional)

Postby Anonymous User » Fri Nov 19, 2010 3:08 pm

Hey guys,

I'm currently a 1L at GW and am getting ready to send out my resume/cover letter on Dec. 1st. I have an undergrad degree in finance and no work experience besides a few internships. I know for a fact that I want to do something related to business law (more transactional than litigation).

Where are the best places to apply for the summer that would give me experience with transactional issues?

seespotrun

Re: Summer Employment (Transactional)

Postby seespotrun » Fri Nov 19, 2010 4:06 pm

Every biglaw firm in NYC, DC and any other city that you have ties. That and the SEC.

Anonymous User

Postby Anonymous User » Fri Nov 19, 2010 4:59 pm

Just get a good work experience somewhere, it doesn't have to be transactional (that's extremely hard to get for your 1L summer). The key is to get something where you can explain in OCI that you were able to work in a legal environment, was able to get writing experience, etc. Biglaw firms realize that most 1Ls can't get transactional experience, and I didn't find that to be a barrier for me during OCI interviews (also want to do transactional work; received 4 V50 offers, also from T-20 school).

Edit: Worked at DOJ Civil this summer (realize that's a huge division but prefer not to get into specific departments).

Anonymous User

Postby Anonymous User » Sat Nov 20, 2010 5:09 pm