NYC entry salary after taxes Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

NYC entry salary after taxes

Post by Anonymous User » Wed Sep 29, 2010 1:03 am

Hi guys, a simple question. I'm currently weighing my options of starting off a legal career in the US and remaining in Europe on the other hand. Obviously one decisive aspect is comparing salary. I have no real knowledge of all the city/state/federal taxes and all other deductions and couldnt find a good online calculator either.
What's basically left, each month, from the 160K salary? Are we talking somewhere around 6.000? How do bonuses fit into this? How commonly are these paid out in the first year and do they fall under any taxation/deduction exemptions?

Thanks a lot!

hlsjd12

New

Re: NYC entry salary after taxes

Post by hlsjd12 » Wed Sep 29, 2010 1:06 am

Around a 100k, when you factor in loans that falls to 85k when you factor in NYC rent thats 65k , next is the 401k which is another 10k so you'll probably have 50k-60k in "free" money, many people will dispute this but I know people in BIGLAW who state this is the case.

Kohinoor

Gold

Post by Kohinoor » Wed Sep 29, 2010 1:12 am

Anonymous User wrote:Around a 100-110k, when you factor in loans that falls to 85k when you factor in NYC rent thats 65k , next is the 401k which is another 10k so you'll probably have 50k-60k in "free" money, many people will dispute this but I know people in BIGLAW who state this is the case.

hlsjd12

New

Post by hlsjd12 » Wed Sep 29, 2010 1:26 am