Transfer Student Cover Letter Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
samiseaborn

Bronze

Transfer Student Cover Letter

Post by samiseaborn » Mon Aug 09, 2010 6:24 pm

In my 1L cover letters I always started with "I'm a first year student at XYZ and in the top P% in my class". Now that I'll be a transfer student, how would you approach that. I'm clearly going to lead with my new school, but should I mention the name of the 1L school at all? Or just say "At my previous school I was top P% in my class". Obviously they are going to get this info from my resume, I was just wondering how everyone else was handling it since I'm in between career service offices right now :)

Big Shrimpin

Gold

Re: Transfer Student Cover Letter

Post by Big Shrimpin » Mon Aug 09, 2010 8:04 pm

samiseaborn wrote:In my 1L cover letters I always started with "I'm a first year student at XYZ and in the top P% in my class". Now that I'll be a transfer student, how would you approach that. I'm clearly going to lead with my new school, but should I mention the name of the 1L school at all? Or just say "At my previous school I was top P% in my class". Obviously they are going to get this info from my resume, I was just wondering how everyone else was handling it since I'm in between career service offices right now :)
I didn't - I would save it for the resume. I'll venture to guess that cover letters don't get as much lovin' as the resume, anyways.

Journeybound

Bronze

Post by Journeybound » Tue Aug 10, 2010 12:11 am