Advice on handling a networking email Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Advice on handling a networking email

Post by Anonymous User » Fri Jul 23, 2010 3:20 pm

I'm pretty new to this process, but want to make sure I get it right. Here's the situation I'm fortunate enough to be in:

I worked for three summers at a sleepaway sports camp, coaching and living with 8-15 year old boys. I had quite a few "favorite" kids, most of them being the kids who were really interested in the sports I coached. The camp is relatively small (like 200 kids/60 counselors) and has a family-type atmosphere, where you really get to know the kids closely over the years. As it turns out, two of my favorite kids have a dad who is the hiring attorney and a high-achieving partner in a large (but not incredibly prestigious) NYC firm.

I had one of the kids in my "group" for the summer, have met the dad on multiple occasions. Always a nice, fun guy who was willing to talk law school shop with me whenever I wanted (going back to my first summer when I was just mildly interested). He knows me as one of his kids' favorite counselors, a guy who took up a lot of time with his sons coaching them football, etc. I was invited to their bar mitzvah last fall, but was unable to attend (1000 miles away, bummer).

He's relatively familiar with me, but only on the camp level. His firm does have an active summer program, but they only take a handful of summers each year (~10ish).