Strenght of Undergrad in OCI

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Strenght of Undergrad in OCI

Postby Anonymous User » Sun Jul 04, 2010 6:28 pm

I attend a Top 20 law school but I graduated from a tier 4 undergrad (only person from my undergrad attending). I noticed when looking at many firm bios that it seems that top law schools and top undergrad schools go hand in hand.

I am in the top 25% of my class, on a secondary journal, working for fed court in NYC. Will I be totally shut out of big law?

MrKappus

Re: Strenght of Undergrad in OCI

Postby MrKappus » Sun Jul 04, 2010 6:32 pm

Be careful about mistaking correlation with causation. Many biglaw attorneys went to top UG's because people who went to top UG's are more likely to do well in law school, and therefore more likely to get biglaw offers. In other words, top UG's are correlated with biglaw offers, but not the cause of them, IMO.

dakatz

Postby dakatz » Sun Jul 04, 2010 6:44 pm

MrKappus wrote:Be careful about mistaking correlation with causation. Many biglaw attorneys went to top UG's because people who went to top UG's are more likely to do well in law school, and therefore more likely to get biglaw offers. In other words, top UG's are correlated with biglaw offers, but not the cause of them, IMO.