Summer temp-negotiate or even accept,what about credentials?

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Summer temp-negotiate or even accept,what about credentials?

Postby Anonymous User » Wed Jun 02, 2010 11:12 pm

I have a BS and Master's EE from Top10 and patent pros. exp, and have a few summer temp work offers lined up with IP firms in Chi and SF, mainly doing some IP/patent pros. work. These guys are paying like 15-20/hr. I know the economy is of course very difficult right now, but I don't want to undersell myself. Would I be a fool to try to negotiate it to like twenty five or thirty/hour, or should I just accept and not negotiate? Sure, the economy is tough, but with my background and experiences and even the offer with some prestigious IP firms, I'm not sure I would consider 15-20. I know I can't pick and chose what I want ITE. But on the other hand, I feel some experience > no experience even if it is just temporary like few months, so I'm a bit confused!

Is anybody in a similar situation or experienced anything similar?

Thoughts on how to negotiate or proceed?

Thanks.

nycparalegal

Re: Summer temp-negotiate or even accept,what about credentials?

Postby nycparalegal » Wed Jun 02, 2010 11:30 pm

Well, I'm not in law school yet but I've had a few job offers in my time. The best thing to do is be honest and say "I'm interested in the job but is the salary/wage negotiable".

Anonymous User

Postby Anonymous User » Thu Jun 03, 2010 5:52 pm