law firm purchasing question

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
suzie

law firm purchasing question

Postby suzie » Thu May 20, 2010 3:09 pm

If any of you have worked in a law firm I was wondering if you could tell me who in the law firm was in charge of purchasing software? and how large was the law firm. I am an aspiring law student at a top ten ugrad doing marketing work as a summer internship. Please help me out!

quickquestionthanks

Re: law firm purchasing question

Postby quickquestionthanks » Thu May 20, 2010 3:13 pm

They're called associates.

suzie

Postby suzie » Thu May 20, 2010 3:21 pm

im assuming this is at big law firms? and yes i realize the randomness of my question and your slight sarcasm but i really have to find out, i have a deadline. anyone else willing to help?

valley splitter

Postby valley splitter » Thu May 20, 2010 3:24 pm

I would suggest calling IT. They can usually help out with this sort of information. At the firm I worked at they were implementing new DMS software and no one, from partners on down to legal assistants, knew what the hell was going on. IT takes care of all this and provides training. I'm guessing partners might let IT know what they need and then IT goes through vendors looking for those characteristics and sets it up. Hope this helps.

Grizz

Postby Grizz » Thu May 20, 2010 3:24 pm

I thought this was about buying a law firm and I was really disappointed.

valley splitter

Postby valley splitter » Thu May 20, 2010 3:26 pm