Which 1L Summer Job? - Got Offers, Don't Know What to Choose

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Which 1L Summer Job? - Got Offers, Don't Know What to Choose

Postby Anonymous User » Wed Jan 27, 2010 10:52 am

I've been on the boards for a while, but have been outed by my classmates/friends so I want to do this anonymously for now.

I'm a median student at a T30 and have 2 offers - one at a major city's US Attorney's Office, and one in the GC office of a national medical-care company. I have by the end of the week to commit. I'm unsure of what I want to do after law school (leaning towards federal work, but want to keep options open). Both are unpaid.

Which looks better on a resume? I would think the USAO, but at the GC's office I'll be the only intern and I'll probably get to really connect with the bosses, etc. because I won't be competing for attention or just be another intern (the USAO division I'd work in takes about 25 interns each summer).

Any non-0Ls have any thoughts? Or is it just a 1L job and therefore doesn't matter?

thesealocust

Re: Which 1L Summer Job? - Got Offers, Don't Know What to Choose

Postby thesealocust » Wed Jan 27, 2010 1:26 pm

edit: never mind
Last edited by thesealocust on Wed Jun 30, 2010 11:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

underdawg

Postby underdawg » Wed Jan 27, 2010 1:33 pm

doesn't matter

-underdawg

MeTalkPrettyOneDay

Postby MeTalkPrettyOneDay » Wed Jan 27, 2010 1:44 pm