Changing one's name ...

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Changing one's name ...

Postby Anonymous User » Tue Jan 12, 2010 7:21 pm

Hey Guys,

I'm about to enter law school and I have a really foreign-sounding east Indian name. I was wondering what your opinion is on getting a name change to something more American (i.e. swapping out my middle name for a more English name). I'm currently a professional in the engineering field, and I feel my name isn't an obstacle at all but then again I don't really interact with people/clients/customers ever. I feel this is a fleeting opportunity since it would be best to do this change right before law school so my future co-workers/peers would know and call me by my new, more "professional" name. Any thoughts on this?

EDIT: I think some Indian names are really simple and professional enough (like Arun, etc..). Unfortunately my first name is like 3 syllables. Nobody knows how to pronounce it. I'm not even sure myself because different ppl in my community say it different ways. Its really just awkward for everyone.

bissey

Re: Changing one's name ...

Postby bissey » Tue Jan 12, 2010 7:26 pm

interesting... i just wanted to add that i think clients will call you mr. (last name) so your first name wont matter

thalassocrat

Postby thalassocrat » Tue Jan 12, 2010 7:34 pm

Is there an easier nickname for your given name?

Anonymous User

Postby Anonymous User » Tue Jan 12, 2010 7:41 pm