Applying to Law School: A Basic Guide Forum

Many years ago TLS held a content competition. The competition is no longer active, but this forum keeps going.
stereo

New

Applying to Law School: A Basic Guide

Post by stereo » Mon Feb 21, 2011 6:44 pm

After going through the law school application process, I felt that I should write down the most basic information all in one post. I would like to update and expand this article over time. I hope this article helps those who are a bit overwhelmed with the application process. For each person, the process will be different and some aspects may be more or less important to you.

My Background:
I am a 26 year old engineer who has been out of school and working for about two years. I have no law professionals in my family nor had I thought about law school in undergrad so I knew absolutely nothing. I had a rough undergraduate career so my LSAC GPA ended up being <2.5. Because of this, I decided to study my butt off for the LSAT and spent many hours on application essays. I was aiming for the best school I could get into that was in a major city with a nicer climate than Ohio.

The Law School Application Process:

Warning! This process can be very time consuming and will last more than a year. You may find yourself having to pass on social events. Some of your friends might even cause you grief because you don't hang out anymore. You have been warned!

Application Process Timeline:

Looking back on the whole process, I see some things that I did well and others that I could have improved on. Basically, if I could do it over again, this is how I would do it.

In my opinion, your chances of getting into law school are decided by:

50% - LSAT
30% - GPA (as butchered by LSAC)
10% - Softs
5% - Personal Statement
5% - Recommendations

The softs may count for more or less depending on what they are (e.g. you won a nobel prize at 15). Under represented minority status can give a significant boost as well.