Freebie vs. Higher ranked school. Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
loquist

New

Freebie vs. Higher ranked school.

Post by loquist » Mon Dec 14, 2009 6:37 am

My stats are sitting at 3.61/163. I have applied to BYU, University of Utah, and University of Idaho. I currently live in Idaho and will be practicing here after graduation.

I have not heard back from any of the schools yet, but I am wondering what the consensus would be on taking a likely freebie at Idaho vs. paying to attend BYU (I'm LDS, honor code not an issue and tuition cheap) or Utah. It is very unlikely that any of the schools will affect my future employment as I will most likely be employed with my current employer (I work as a legal assistant), but I do like the idea of my degree having more recognizable name than UofI.

Loquist

shaville

New

Re: Freebie vs. Higher ranked school.

Post by shaville » Mon Dec 14, 2009 7:33 am

Fellow Idahoan,
If you are going to stay in Idaho, go to UofI. I was facing that a similar choice myself (U of I for free or University of Michigan) and I chose Michigan because I'm not staying in Idaho. I have heard that the Boise legal market is largely made up of U of I grads, and employers tend to strongly gravitate to their graduates. For example, my brother graduated from Stanford Law and was beat out several times by U of I grads- there is a strong sense of school loyalty or something. To me, there is little question you should go to U of I.

jsoell

New

Post by jsoell » Mon Dec 14, 2009 8:10 am

Sounds similar to the Mississippi market. The variable I see would be LDS. Are you hoping to practice within the LDS community in Idaho? If so, what sort of cachet do you get from having attended BYU?

loquist

New

Post by loquist » Mon Dec 14, 2009 11:49 am

shaville wrote:Fellow Idahoan,