2.0 GPA and 165 LSAT..where to apply?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
engineer_dude

New

2.0 GPA and 165 LSAT..where to apply?

Postby engineer_dude » Mon Dec 07, 2009 2:19 pm

Hi everyone,

I am an Aerospace Engineer, and have been working for 6+ years as a professional engineer. During my working experience I had exposure to Patents and Intellectual property law. This interest made me write LSAT and explore my options in the field of law. I scored 165 but my GPA sucks since I did a hard bachelor's program unlike most of the folks who apply to law schools (no offence) :)

Any suggestions on which school to apply? Location is not a big factor for me, as long as the school is decent.

Thanks.

Engineer Dude.

Gamecubesupreme

Bronze

Re: 2.0 GPA and 165 LSAT..where to apply?

Postby Gamecubesupreme » Mon Dec 07, 2009 2:35 pm

Santa Clara would be a perfect fit for you, but your GPA is gonna be damn hard to justify, unless you have good reasons.

b.j.

Bronze

Postby b.j. » Mon Dec 07, 2009 11:33 pm

Is there a particular reason your GPA is so low? Mine is higher than yours, at a 2.5*, but it's still not good. Of course, I was a math major for a while, with a few random econ and science classes mixed in, before I finally decided to switch to history. My in-major GPA, if I remember correctly, is a 3.1-3.2--definitely a 3.0, I'm almost certain. I plan to write an addendum explaining what happened. I don't have anything that really excuses those low grades, like an illness, so I simply have to explain how I had to learn the hard way certain subjects weren't for me.

engineer_dude

New

Postby engineer_dude » Tue Dec 08, 2009 12:58 pm

Hey B.J.