Websites to Research Before Going to Law School Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
90s Nickelodeon

New

Re: Research job prospects and the profession BEFORE law school

Post by 90s Nickelodeon » Tue Feb 10, 2009 11:43 am

Good thing I have absolutely zero interest in working at a law firm! (That layoff tracker is terrifying!)

legalese_retard

Bronze

Post by legalese_retard » Tue Feb 10, 2009 11:46 am

EXERCISE
http://www.craigslist.org/
Another reality check. Pretend you already went to the school you got accepted to and are thinking about attending. You graduated medium or around the bottom half of your class and are unemployed at graduation. After exhausting all resources, you have to start looking on your own. Visit the craigslist site for your city or the city you want to practice in and see what jobs are available. As an unemployed law graduate, I can say that this is one of the last places where there are job postings available right now. Look to see if you are willing to and don't mind working at these places whether as a contract attorney or an Insurance Defense Attorney. Typically these firms pay $30K-$50K/year and STILL require decent grades, law school, law review, moot court, mock trial, etc.

williamholden1

New

Post by williamholden1 » Tue Feb 10, 2009 11:48 am

On this subject, does anyone have any information on law job growth in various cities/regions? I'm weighing several different regional schools and my choice will greatly depend on whether I'm entering oversaturated markets or notoriously competitive markets.

90s Nickelodeon

New

Post by 90s Nickelodeon » Tue Feb 10, 2009 11:52 am

legalese_retard wrote:EXERCISE