Honor Code Violation Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
lilyyxy

New

Honor Code Violation

Post by lilyyxy » Thu Mar 21, 2019 11:58 pm

Hi folks,

I am a prelaw student in grad school now and am going to apply for law school in fall 2019. I have some questions about how my honor code violation in undergrad affects my chance to get in t14 law school and any inputs are appreciated!

I’m now a first year grad student and it happened when I was a freshman in college. The violation happened in my French language class when I was writing a weekly blog. The assignment (about 15 weekly blogs in total) altogether counts for 10% of the course grade. I did not cite one sentence that I paraphrased from Wikipedia in one of my weekly blogs. I came to the US for college as an international student from a totally different educational system so all of this was new to me. The professor was new to the college so she didn’t know the rules and directly contacted the honor board committee before talking to me. I had a few hearings at the committee after writing a letter explaining the situation. The process really threw me off and the experience was pretty traumatized. The committee decided to close the case with "unintentional plagiarism".

My dean told me that it will be a closed file in my profile folder, but the college will give other people access when requested. I don't know in what form this paper exists and how it will affect my chance of getting in T14 law schools. I have a 3.73 gpa (manga cum laude when I graduated), and am aiming at 175 lsat.

Also, a separate question: do law schools ask you to report any kind of academic hearings or only academic dishonesty? I’m not sure how detailed I need to be when writing the addendum because I also went through a academic- racism hearing (one of my professors is a fucking racist), but it didn’t have any negative effects on my academic performance eventually.

I appreciate any inputs provided!

cavalier1138