Not one, but two, alcohol related disciplinary actions Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
ikelley

New

Not one, but two, alcohol related disciplinary actions

Post by ikelley » Tue Sep 11, 2018 6:01 pm

Hey everyone! Right now I'm a junior in undergrad, about to take my first sitting for the LSAT in November.

I am curious about what more experienced members of this community think about 2 separate underage drinking incidents during my undergrad. My first occurred in the spring of my freshman year, and involved a misdemeanor charge for underage drinking which was later dismissed after a year of good behavior and community service, as well as disciplinary probation with the school. The second incident occurred in the fall of my sophomore year and did not involve the police but resulted in disciplinary probation again.

I have seen people suggest that one minor underage drinking incident is not a big deal, but how bad is it when there are two? How should I best portray that in an addendum? Write two separate or group them together? Certain things I should express?

I don't want to reveal too much identifying information but I have a fairly high GPA (3.8-3.9 range) and will hopefully score around 165-170 (but of course I do not have any actual score yet). I am not trying to go to a T14, but hopefully a T50 with some scholarship $$$. I know that no one can know what admissions will think, but any opinions or advice would be great!

Pneumonia

Gold

Re: Not one, but two, alcohol related disciplinary actions

Post by Pneumonia » Tue Sep 11, 2018 7:28 pm

This won't matter. Write (one!) short addendum saying that you were charged with a misdemeanor and placed on academic probation twice. You don't need to give details about where/when/why. Then say it was a mistake and that you've had no further issues.

ikelley

New

Post by ikelley » Wed Sep 12, 2018 9:28 am