Is IP/patent law a "unique" field in terms of pay? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
LegalBiology

New

Is IP/patent law a "unique" field in terms of pay?

Post by LegalBiology » Wed May 30, 2018 8:01 pm

So I am relatively new to being pre-law and have discovered some things about making money in law. It seems like if you want to make great money staring out (160K+) you should go for "biglaw" and have to go to a top 14 law school, or be top 10% in your class/work locally at a top ~30 or get lucky. But does this also apply to patent/IP law?

In other words, are IP lawyers more in demand such that one could start out making 140-180K from any law school and not working in a "biglaw" firm, assuming they had a bachelor's degree in a hard science?

or, if I want to have the high salary in patent law, should I still expect to have to graduate from a top 14 school just like everyone else?

JosefK

New

Re: Is IP/patent law a "unique" field in terms of pay?

Post by JosefK » Wed May 30, 2018 8:53 pm

From the tone of your post I'm not sure you've really given enough thought to what it is lawyers do v. other career paths you could take with your science background and I would encourage you to do so. Money is not everything.

To your IP question - first and foremost IP is a huge field, and most of it does not require a technical degree. It encompasses trademarks and branding (don't need a technical degree), transactions (again no technical degree needed), and copyright (again, no technical degree). For these areas, a technical degree may be a small plus, but the school you go to is much more important.