GPA and LSAT weights Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
BruhBruhMarz

New

GPA and LSAT weights

Post by BruhBruhMarz » Tue Feb 20, 2018 1:12 pm

I am currently a second semester junior and Law School hopeful. As it sits, I currently have a 2.8 gpa. My first 2 years were affected with my father suffering a stroke and i had to pick up a lot of pace when he wasn't able to work and get his day to day stuff done, along with the mental aspects of seeing my father in that state, my grades suffered. I wanted to wait a year after I graduated from college and then apply to law school. My question is: How heavily is the LSAT wighted in regards to the GPA? Im from Chicago and the schools I would like to attend are in the Midwest. What are my chances of getting into these schools with my current gpa, that will be going up, and what LSAT score will put me in the ballpark of schools like Loyola, Kent, or anywhere else in the country is need be.

POLS major
Econ Minor
UIC student.
Technical Work Experience.
Funny guy. :D

preamble

Bronze

Re: GPA and LSAT weights

Post by preamble » Tue Feb 20, 2018 11:24 pm

LSAT is generally weighted more heavily than GPA. Try to get your GPA up as much as humanly/mathematically possible in your last three semesters, and then dedicate a LOT of time to preparing for the LSAT. You really want to knock it out of the park on the test. A really high LSAT opens up a lot of doors.

totesTheGoat

Silver

Post by totesTheGoat » Wed Feb 21, 2018 5:20 pm