HELP! gap year on resume Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
supermanloi

New

HELP! gap year on resume

Post by supermanloi » Mon Jan 22, 2018 6:26 pm

My top choice school emailed me today asking me to send an updated resume. I've never heard of this happening to anyone. (Has this?) I graduated last May, and haven't added anything on my resume since then because I've been just travelling, tutoring, spending time with family, etc. I now think this could have looked as a huge gap on my resume, and will seriously hurt my chances. Has anybody taken a gap year during which you did nothing professional? And if so, how did you fill in the gap on your resume? ANY sort of help would be appreciated. I feel like adding a couple lines about tutoring, waitressing, etc. isn't what the school is ideally looking for, but I guess this is what I should do..? :roll:

SmokeytheBear

Silver

Re: HELP! gap year on resume

Post by SmokeytheBear » Mon Jan 22, 2018 6:59 pm

I would say just list your tutoring efforts.

Or link this video https://youtu.be/eKFjWR7X5dU

Jjbb938483

New

Post by Jjbb938483 » Tue Jan 23, 2018 2:57 pm

If I were you, I would be glad that my top choice school was interested enough to ask for an updated resume. I may be wrong but I doubt they would go through the trouble to email someone they weren't already considering.

To answer your question, just write a few lines about the tutoring (and whatever else you've done). You might mention in the email that you've spent time traveling, etc. and thats why the resume is somewhat bare since May. That's really all you can do. There's nothing wrong with taking time off anyway.

hamshotfirst

New

Post by hamshotfirst » Tue Jan 23, 2018 5:31 pm