NUSL($0) v. Suffolk($75k) v. NESL (full) Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
himi bimi

New

NUSL($0) v. Suffolk($75k) v. NESL (full)

Post by himi bimi » Wed Jan 10, 2018 6:22 pm

I have 7 years legal work experience (3.5 with private law firm and 2.5 with U.S. Attorney's Office) and an MPA. I want to work as an attorney for the federal government and thus am debt-adverse. I have conditional tenure with the federal government (good for three years) which is a decent fall back if I can't find a job. Any advice?

AaronCarter

Bronze

Re: NUSL($0) v. Suffolk($75k) v. NESL (full)

Post by AaronCarter » Wed Jan 10, 2018 6:24 pm

What is NESL

himi bimi

New

Post by himi bimi » Wed Jan 10, 2018 6:25 pm

Sorry, New England School of Law

AaronCarter

Bronze

Post by AaronCarter » Wed Jan 10, 2018 6:31 pm

I'd say absolutely take the full tuition scholarship.

Either that or retake and shoot for BU/BC

cavalier1138

Post by cavalier1138 » Wed Jan 10, 2018 6:32 pm

The federal government is a big place. Which agencies are you targeting?

Want to continue reading?

Register now to search topics and post comments!

Absolutely FREE!

himi bimi

New

Post by himi bimi » Wed Jan 10, 2018 7:10 pm

Specifically in the Boston area. If I could get back in with the USAO as a law intern ( these can eventually be converted into SAUSAs), I'd be satisfied. I'm pretty tight with the admin here.

himi bimi

New

Post by himi bimi » Wed Jan 10, 2018 7:19 pm

Also waiting to hear back from BU and BC but those are likely rejections.

cavalier1138

Post by cavalier1138 » Wed Jan 10, 2018 7:28 pm

himi bimi wrote:Specifically in the Boston area. If I could get back in with the USAO as a law intern ( these can eventually be converted into SAUSAs), I'd be satisfied. I'm pretty tight with the admin here.
Are you tight enough that you have a guaranteed offer? If not, I don't think any of these schools get you into a halfway-competitive USAO.

himi bimi

New