Take a year off?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
lawschoolhopeful143

New

Take a year off?

Postby lawschoolhopeful143 » Fri Dec 22, 2017 9:20 pm

Hi. I took my LSAT in December and September and they're both 149. I'm an African American female (don't know if that really makes a difference with such a low score). I work two jobs and I'm a full time student with a GPA of 3.8. I know I didn't study enough for the lsat and I'll be graduating in May 2017. My question is whether or not I should apply to law schools or should I wait a year and study and retake the lsat again? I know my scores are really low but would I be able to get into any tier 2 schools or any schools at all? Thanks for any advice!

Yugihoe

Silver

Re: Take a year off?

Postby Yugihoe » Fri Dec 22, 2017 9:25 pm

It would be a shame to waste that 3.8 gpa on this lsat, which you probably already know. Don't apply until you get it up to the 160s, and you'd probably see lots of $$$ at top schools. Better off even working 2-3 years for that kind of outcome, than jumping the gun.

landshoes

Silver

Postby landshoes » Fri Dec 22, 2017 9:29 pm

You can get into some law schools. But you really don't want to go to the schools you could get into with that score. You should definitely retake and if you don't do better, you probably shouldn't apply at all.

I'm not saying that because I don't think you'd be a good lawyer --- I'm sure you'd be a fantastic lawyer. But you have the work ethic and intelligence to work two jobs and get a 3.8. You don't need a JD to do okay for yourself. The kind of JD that you could get from the kind of school that would let you in with a 149 would be expensive and wouldn't really help you get a job.

Rigo

Diamond

Postby Rigo » Sat Dec 23, 2017 12:35 am

Yes take a year off, take a good LSAT course and/or solidly self study with the time you'll have freed up by not being a student.
You're doing yourself a real disservice by not retaking.
Good luck.