Harvard Junior Deferral Program Chances

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
GreeneGumby

Harvard Junior Deferral Program Chances

Postby GreeneGumby » Tue Nov 07, 2017 8:56 pm

I'm a current sophomore and I'm looking at the junior deferral program and wondering if it's worth my time to apply. So, first, some current info about me. By the end of this semester I'll hopefully have a 3.83 cumulative GPA (currently a 3.79 but on an upward trend and I'm taking 20 credits this semester). I'm hopeful that by the time I'd apply I'd have at least a 3.86-89. I'm a philosophy and classical languages double major. In terms of softs, not tons of clubs or things but some interesting extracurriculars. I spent a month as an 18-year-old living on my own and woking construction in the Himalayas of Northern India for example. But I'm not editor of the school paper or president of any clubs or anything. Also, if it matters, I was a National Merit Scholar Finalist (didn't get the scholly b/c my high school GPA wasn't amazing. 3.6something IIRC).

The program interests me because I really would love to get a graduate degree in philosophy but I have no desire to be a professor. Ideally, I would spend the year after undergrad doing Oxford's Mst (masters of ancient philosophy), spend a year working, and then go to law school.

My real question is, assuming I can score a 170+ (ideally a 173+) on the LSAT, is it worth the time to apply? I'm trying to figure out if it's worth studying for the LSAT now as a sophomore or if it wouldn't be worth the time. The mylsn info is a little limited because the sample size is so small (and not JDP specific). Any advice about the program in general is welcome too.

Also, since I wouldn't apply until next year (technically Feb. 2019 I think), how does the recent ABA testing news affect me?

cavalier1138

Re: Harvard Junior Deferral Program Chances

Postby cavalier1138 » Tue Nov 07, 2017 9:13 pm