Transfer or Grad Early Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Mongoosie

New

Transfer or Grad Early

Post by Mongoosie » Thu Nov 02, 2017 5:40 pm

Hello,

I'm currently a freshman in his fall semester at an average university in Michigan (GVSU, WSU, MSU, WMU) and have just found out that I can finish my BA in econ here in 2.5 years, because of ap credits from high school. I'm torn because I'd originally planned on transferring to UMich as a sophomore or junior transfer to finish up my degree. Unfortunately I also don't think I would have time to do study abroad, something I was excited for as a high school student. Would the extra year of potential income be worth it? Or is UMich's reputation worth taking the full 4 years? Thanks so much.

mcmand

Silver

Re: Transfer or Grad Early

Post by mcmand » Thu Nov 02, 2017 5:49 pm

If you're asking whether it's worth it in terms of law school admissions, what matters is you getting a high GPA in something that you actually care about learning (arguably you don't need to care, but I think it's helpful that you do). Everything else is really secondary.

The only other factor that would relate to law school would be minimizing your debt burden from undergrad. If transferring to Michigan will keep your costs low, then maybe it's worth it. If Michigan will cost you more money/student loans, probably not worth it. I suppose you could also look into whether there are more opportunities for a Michigan undergrad to intern for attorneys/in the legal field than at your current school, but I don't think this should be a significant factor since you can do this virtually anywhere.