Major Splitter: where should I apply?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Melnonymous

Major Splitter: where should I apply?

Postby Melnonymous » Sat Oct 14, 2017 8:33 am

Hi all,

I'm about 10 years out of undergrad (where I screwed myself over big time), and I'm looking to apply to law school.

Here's the thing: My most resent LSAT was a 178. I have 10+ years of work experience in politics and philanthropy. I have killer recommendations, have taken some upper level classes since undergrad (non-credit) and received A's in all of them (I want to prove that I've grown since undergrad). I've traveled extensively on my own and have picked up new hobbies and have been an active volunteer in my community. Needless to say, I am not the idiot who received a 2.3 in undergrad (it hurts me to type that out). I know that, but law school admissions likely won't. I cringe when I think about how miserable I was in undergrad -- working 80 hours a week as editor of the student paper, taking six classes, dealing with untreated health problems, and the loss of a close friend. I'm not saying this is an excuse, but if I could go back and slap myself across the face so I wouldn't have to be in this situation, I would. At the time, I had ZERO goals of grad or law school, and my journalksm professors told me "don't stress about your GPA -- pass your classes and gain experience."

So here's my thing. I would love to get into a t14... or at least at t25. I know this is unlikely. Trust me, I know, and I hate it. I hate who I was ten years ago. I heard Northwestern is friendlier to splitters, especially those with a lot of professional experience and high LSATs. What other schools out there are similar? What advice do you have? What would up my chances? I've heard miracle splitter stories.