167 LSAT and 3.82 GPA Apply to some now or wait on all apps?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Tycho_Brohey

167 LSAT and 3.82 GPA Apply to some now or wait on all apps?

Postby Tycho_Brohey » Wed Oct 11, 2017 11:41 pm

Hello. I just got back my September LSAT score earlier today, 167. This is my first attempt. My UGrad GPA was 3.82. Going into my LSAT studies I was looking to hit anything in the T30, really targeting places like UT, Vandy, or UWashington.

From checking mylsn I'm pretty set for any of those places with great money. I'd love a shot at big law coming out to make good money for several years and set up a good career transition in to something less demanding. I'm from Texas and have lived here for a long time. Most of my family is here, and I should be able to easily make great law contacts in the major cities through family.

I know my score is scratching at T13, and I know if I want better admissions chances or more money to any of them I need to retake in December. I'm wondering if I should go ahead and apply to the schools I'm looking at outside of the T13 with my current profile, or if I should wait until I get back a theoretical score increase in January and do all of my apps then.

Further information at the risk of being long winded. My PT average going in to the September test was sitting around 167-169. I've hit low 170s several times, but I've been taking a break since the test. I imagine it's possible I could pull out a 169 or 170 in December, maybe higher, and I'd basically need to reduce my missed questions in both LR to make it happen (-0 in games and RC is usually fine, but I don't see myself coming up with a way to strategically reduce my missed questions there).

I have a master's and several years of work experience. I'm married and waiting another cycle is basically off of the table because we'd like to move our life forward and not stagnate for another year. Thank you for any insight.

UVA2B