- Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
ilpsm

Bronze

Recommendations - Undergrad/Grad

Post by ilpsm » Wed Aug 30, 2017 1:43 pm

Hi everyone,

I'm getting ready to get my ducks in a row for this admissions cycle and have a question about who to ask for recommendation letters. Any advice is appreciated and I apologize if a similar thread has been posted.

I did a combined bachelors/masters degree at my school where the fourth year was predominantly my masters classes. Because that program was small and offered extracurricular activities involving the professors in it (namely a national case competition which was moderated by one of my professors in particular), I definitely have a stronger connection to those professors. As I'm preparing to reach out, I'm realizing that all three professors I would like to ask for a recommendation are from the graduate program (one is the moderator of that case competition, one is an attorney who I had for 3 classes and who is published widely in her field, and the third is a professor whose class I performed particularly well in and who used to be a partner at the firm I work at). In addition, a fourth professor from the graduate program who I had for 2 classes went to Stanford law and is incredibly successful, but I definitely am not as close with him.

My question is this - is it an issue to be asking three professors from my graduate program for recommendations? I am not especially close with any professors from my undergraduate program save for one who I had freshman year. Also, do you think it's worth replacing one of the first three with the professor who went to Stanford?

Thanks again for any guidance.

Edit: not sure if it's relevant but my grades are practically the same across both programs
Last edited by ilpsm on Sat Jan 27, 2018 1:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Pozzo

Gold

Re: Recommendations - Undergrad/Grad

Post by Pozzo » Thu Aug 31, 2017 11:01 am