Is any kind of work experience beneficial for law school admission?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
yis

New

Is any kind of work experience beneficial for law school admission?

Postby yis » Fri Aug 25, 2017 7:53 pm

Hey! I'm an international student and I'd like to apply to one of the top law schools (the ones with the most financial aid). I know that some schools really want their applicants to have work experience (like Harvard, for example), but is any kind of work experience good or do you need something related to law? I'm actually going to be a nurse, but that doesn't have anything to do with law whatsoever, so should I find something else? I know the LSAT is the most important by far, I'm just curious about the work experience.

dabigchina

Silver

Re: Is any kind of work experience beneficial for law school admission?

Postby dabigchina » Fri Aug 25, 2017 8:26 pm

Any kind of full time work is going to be fine.

If you are asking what the absolute most useful job would be, I would say some kind of financial services or legal job would be the best.

yis

New

Postby yis » Fri Aug 25, 2017 8:49 pm

dabigchina wrote:Any kind of full time work is going to be fine.

If you are asking what the absolute most useful job would be, I would say some kind of financial services or legal job would be the best.

Thanks for answering so quickly! I'm curious - would being a nurse offer a slight advantage? From what I understand, top schools really like diversity. I'm really worried that they'd think it's strange that I want to go to law school, because I'd pretty much quit the job I studied for four years. Wouldn't that leave a bad impression? Wouldn't they think I give up too easily or that I'm irresolute? :(

studystudystudy

New

Postby studystudystudy » Sat Aug 26, 2017 12:30 am

yis wrote:
dabigchina wrote:Any kind of full time work is going to be fine.