Latin Honors

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
etramak

Silver

Latin Honors

Postby etramak » Wed Mar 29, 2017 12:06 pm

I graduated from UG summa cum laude, but the catch is my uni hands this distinction out solely based on GPA. I'm worried that if I put it on my resume it would naturally invite an interviewer to inquire about my nonexistent honors thesis. Is it worth inclusion?

poptart123

Silver

Re: Latin Honors

Postby poptart123 » Wed Mar 29, 2017 12:15 pm

A lot of schools do this. Don't worry about it. They probably won't inquire and if they do just explain it signifies GPA achievements.

Thomas Hagan, ESQ.

Silver

Postby Thomas Hagan, ESQ. » Wed Mar 29, 2017 12:19 pm

I actually always thought Latin Honors were based solely on GPA haha it seems like a bunch of UGs do this so you're fine.

I think what's common (correct me if I'm wrong) is that that Latin Honors is basd on GPA and you graduate with Honors if you wrote an honors thesis. So there's a difference between Graduating Summa Cum Laude and graduating with honors. I think...

Nebby

Diamond

Postby Nebby » Wed Mar 29, 2017 12:25 pm

The weirdest anonymous humblebrags occur on TLS

Thomas Hagan, ESQ.

Silver

Postby Thomas Hagan, ESQ. » Wed Mar 29, 2017 12:26 pm

Nebby wrote:The weirdest anonymous humblebrags occur on TLS

LOL

Anon.y.mousse.

Silver

Postby Anon.y.mousse. » Wed Mar 29, 2017 12:26 pm

Thomas Hagan, ESQ. wrote:I actually always thought Latin Honors were based solely on GPA haha it seems like a bunch of UGs do this so you're fine.

I think what's common (correct me if I'm wrong) is that that Latin Honors is basd on GPA and you graduate with Honors if you wrote an honors thesis. So there's a difference between Graduating Summa Cum Laude and graduating with honors. I think...

At my undergrad you could get departmental honors for writing a thesis, but Latin honors were dependent solely on GPA. Didn't realize Latin honors required more at other schools.

etramak