Defer or Reapply? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
emrekhan

New

Defer or Reapply?

Post by emrekhan » Sun Mar 19, 2017 5:51 pm

I applied this cycle with a ~3.7 and an LSAT above all 75th’s. I graduated last year and have been working abroad. I applied to law school this cycle after receiving my LSAT score in October. Before receiving the score, the only other thing I had done was contact my professors for recommendations. I turned everything around in about a month to apply early.
When I applied I was pretty naive to the process and unsure of what I wanted to do. I just wanted to go to the best school possible.

My cycle has gone relatively typically given my stats. Dinged at S, Waiting on a ding from Y, in at H, WL at Chicago, in at CN MP and D, (didn’t apply to UVA, don’t ask me why) and dinged at Berk.

Money-wise I’ve received a decent amount from Michigan and Duke, still waiting on Penn and Columbia (no named scholarship) and NYU gave me some but less than half.

Meanwhile, I have realized that I would like to stay abroad for another year. I didn’t think that it would be a possibility and the beginning of this cycle which is why I applied.

If I were to defer, at this point I think I would defer H, given that I would lose all scholarship negotiation at schools which have offered me money.

My goals would be to do litigation, clerk and then go into academia ( I know, lofty goals.) I’m not opposed to big law but I’m not sure how long I’d make it. Harvard gives me the best opportunities to reach my goals out of the options I have, but I’m afraid of the debt. Also, I’m not sure the incremental advantage H gives is worth it.

Given all this, does it make sense to reapply next year? How do schools look at applicants who reapply after already being accepted? Given my stats, do you think that I’ve maxed out my outcomes?

theboringest

Bronze

Re: Defer or Reapply?

Post by theboringest » Sun Mar 19, 2017 6:18 pm