Help: Apply or Wait?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
hwhalen

New

Help: Apply or Wait?

Postby hwhalen » Tue Feb 07, 2017 1:07 pm

3.178 UGPA/ 167 LSAT – strong soft factors, strong volunteer experience and community involvement, GPA addendum – apply now or wait for a T20 school?

Applied:

UCLA, USC, Berkeley, College of William & Mary Law (accepted)

Apply?
Georgetown, Vanderbilt
___
Sorry for the length of this post: I’ve been struggling with this decision for a month now. I was full speed ahead on my application process – ready to apply to basically across the board T20 schools, with a few safeties mixed in. Overall I was set to spend about $1000 total. I received quite a few fee waivers, but realized that due to the lateness of my application I was at a severe disadvantage. I decided to suspend my process about a week ago.

I graduated from a top15 school in 2016, but with a dismal 3.178 GPA. I added a GPA addendum, as I was hospitalized sophomore year and senior year. First for a myriad of diseases (meningitis, mono, and strep all at once) and then later for a head injury – both of which drastically affected my grades.

I’ve been spending my time working for a large law firm as a paralegal. One of my recs is from my current boss – who is not the most eloquent guy, but provided strong praise. My other is from a close personal mentor and friend from my university – attended UCLA undergrad and for his PhD. He assured me it was “beautiful” and wished that I could see it. I believe him.

My PS is unique but nothing crazy – well-written but about a more light-hearted subject than many others, I’m sure. I have more than enough life experience to write a more thought-provoking PS (personal and familial struggles with mental illness, family’s substance abuse, sibling with disabilities), but chose to go the light-hearted route.