Rare Situation Advice Needed

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )

Options

Option 1
96%
Option 2
4%

Total votes: 23

SiberianHuskyDog

New

Rare Situation Advice Needed

Postby SiberianHuskyDog » Thu Feb 02, 2017 10:38 am

Hey guys,

I'm in a rare situation which is why I think my question warranted its own post, I am looking for advice and help. I will try very hard to truncate and summarize.

I graduated from a pretty good college in 2014 at 22 years old. I didn't prepare well enough and I got a 153 on the lsat to go along with my 3.5 gpa. Definitely not good. I decided to take 2 years off to get work experience at a very small but successful firm. I started in IT and eventually was promoted where I am now, paralegal to a partner with 10 months working here so far.

By some miracle of god, it turns out that last month, we have agreed to let a large firm absorb us. They will increase my pay to $70,000 before overtime and I will remain an assistant to the partner. My small firm has told me before the merger they would retain me during and after law school, but who knows now. However, the field of law I work in is extremely specific, rare and in great demand.

At 25 years old already, the pressure to study properly, take the lsat and get into law school is enormous both internally and from family and friends.

My question is:

1. Do I take another cycle off, prepare for the June LSAT and work for the big firm until September 2018 where I will be 26 years old already?

Or

2. Take the February test Saturday (I expect a 160, I haven't been preparing because of work) and apply to schools with my porous 153 for September 2017 admission.

I am truly stuck here. Thank you very much.
Last edited by SiberianHuskyDog on Thu Feb 02, 2017 1:22 pm, edited 4 times in total.

mrtux45

Bronze

Re: Rare Situation Advice Needed

Postby mrtux45 » Thu Feb 02, 2017 10:44 am

1000000% option 1.

Good luck, congrats on the opportunity!

tofuspeedstar

Platinum