GPA & LSAT (Thrilling title I know)

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
jciigoe30

New

GPA & LSAT (Thrilling title I know)

Postby jciigoe30 » Fri Jan 13, 2017 11:35 am

Hello Everyone,

This is my first time posting on here so forgive me if my topic isn't too unique or if it's in the wrong place.

I am currently currently in my second semester of freshman year at the University at Buffalo. However, I brought in enough credits that I will likely be graduating a year early in 2019. I am a Political Science of Public Law major and Philosophy Minor. I have a 4.0 and can reasonably expect to graduate with a 3.85+. My goal is to attend a T-14 law school.

With that being the case, I was wondering if I should take my GPA and leverage it into transferring into a more target undergrad school for T14 law schools. I would obviously prefer to stay at UB, however I don't know whether a solid GPA from UB will mean as much. I would prefer that my GPA accounts for as much as possible in comparison to my LSAT score and it seems like that may be the case only at more competitive schools.

Any advice is appreciated. Thank you.

Future Ex-Engineer

Silver

Re: GPA & LSAT (Thrilling title I know)

Postby Future Ex-Engineer » Fri Jan 13, 2017 11:40 am

lol no.

Stay at your uni. Get a good GPA. Do poorly on the first LSAT. Retake. Crush the LSAT. Attend whatever T14 you want. ????. Profit.

For slightly more in-depth analysis:
They really don't care much at all what your undergrad was IF you have a good GPA and LSAT. If you want T14 you shouldn't even think about it unless you're 168+ (most here would say 170+). If you have 3.85+ and 170+ you should be able to go just about anywhere you want, regardless of undergrad location.

There is not really much situation where a great GPA will make up for a crummy LSAT. They both need to be good to have a good shot at making it to the top (in most cases).

ToGetIntoTheBoysHole

New