Weight of having "Honors College" on transcript?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Synchoresis

New

Weight of having "Honors College" on transcript?

Postby Synchoresis » Wed Dec 28, 2016 2:17 pm

Hello,

I am currently a freshman enrolled in my school's Honors College program. I've now come to realize that the only benefit to this program is early class registration. The required Honors College curriculum negates all of the AP courses I took in high school, and I would not be able to take any electives should I continue with the program.

I would like to ditch this program and take the classes I find interesting, but as I went to a kind-of "meh" public school for a free ride, I was wondering if graduating from the university's "Honors College" would hold much weight with law school admissions counselors.

(Also, I am fairly confident I will be able to maintain a 4.0 with or without the program, and my school does award Latin honors.)

Any advice for a newbie?

BigZuck

Diamond

Re: Weight of having "Honors College" on transcript?

Postby BigZuck » Wed Dec 28, 2016 2:27 pm

Doesn't matter. They just care about GPA, the higher the better.

Enjoy college and please don't even think about law school for another 7 years, minimum.

zot1

Gold

Postby zot1 » Wed Dec 28, 2016 2:32 pm

Leave the program. Spend next four years exploring other career options.

Synchoresis

New

Postby Synchoresis » Wed Dec 28, 2016 2:34 pm

Thanks for the clarification BigZuck and zot1; GPA it is then. Would you mind my asking why not to think about law school? I graduate in two years and would like to give myself plenty of time to study for the LSAT and fill out the application.

Anon.y.mousse.

Silver

Postby Anon.y.mousse. » Wed Dec 28, 2016 2:40 pm

A different opinion - I was a part of my school's