Letters of Recommendation

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
andymayne

New

Letters of Recommendation

Postby andymayne » Mon Dec 26, 2016 7:51 pm

I plan on applying for law school next year, therefore starting law school September, 2018. I am in my final year of undergraduate studies with one semester lest until graduation. So I've realized I should secure some letters of recommendation now. BUT the big problem is that I never formed any kind of bond with any professor I've taken class with, although I aced most of the classes. Could you please answer the following questions/concerns, OR link me to a site that will give me all the details related to LOR that I should know.

How do I go about asking for these letters in my email to professors I've taken class with years ago? I did well in many classes, but I'm concerned how awkward it would be to email them when I never formed any kind of friendship with them, and just stayed silent throughout the class and got the As. Do I simply write in the email "Hey, I did great in your class in in semester of 2015. I know we never talked, but could you write me letter of recommendation and put in generic flowery bullshit about my exceptional abilities and great character, etc?" Would it be out of line for me to suggest to the professor that I write the letter myself and that he signs it?
ALSO, is the signed letter supposed to be on a physical piece of paper that I would stash away until I apply for law schools (and I make copies to send to each law school?) or is it supposed to be typed out and saved to some kind of database?

sethnoorzad

New

Re: Letters of Recommendation

Postby sethnoorzad » Mon Dec 26, 2016 9:01 pm

Your law school recommendations should be sent or uploaded to LSAC directly by your professors. You can send them an invite once you register for the Credential Assembly Service with LSAC. It's $175 and lasts for five years. They compile your materials and send them to law schools.