Background for Corporate Law

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
yakmonay

New

Background for Corporate Law

Postby yakmonay » Sat Dec 24, 2016 8:31 pm

I'm a first year undergrad majoring in History and minoring in Political Science. I want to work in corporate law in the future, and am worried that I won't have the business/finance background necessary for corporate law. Should I add an accounting/business minor, or will the corporate law I need to know be taught in law school anyways?

RZ5646

Gold

Re: Background for Corporate Law

Postby RZ5646 » Sat Dec 24, 2016 8:35 pm

Might want to ask this in the "ask a law student / graduate" forum instead.

cavalier1138

Gold

Postby cavalier1138 » Sat Dec 24, 2016 10:10 pm

You do not need a corporate background of any kind to practice corporate law.

gnomgnomuch

Silver

Postby gnomgnomuch » Sat Dec 24, 2016 10:12 pm

yakmonay wrote:I'm a first year undergrad majoring in History and minoring in Political Science. I want to work in corporate law in the future, and am worried that I won't have the business/finance background necessary for corporate law. Should I add an accounting/business minor, or will the corporate law I need to know be taught in law school anyways?

Also please come back in 3 years...I say this as someone who was in your position a few years ago, you'll be so much better off if you just do well in school and have fun rather than agonizing over something that won't happen for a minimum of 7 years.

BigZuck

Diamond

Postby BigZuck » Sat Dec 24, 2016 10:55 pm

The corporate law you need to know won't be taught in law school. You won't learn how to be a corporate lawyer until you become a corporate lawyer.

But no, you don't need to be a business major or anything like that. Doesn't matter what your major is.

Mullens

Silver

Postby Mullens » Sat Dec 24, 2016 11:13 pm