Three+ years postgrad LORs and other concerns Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
tapenade

New

Three+ years postgrad LORs and other concerns

Post by tapenade » Tue Dec 20, 2016 7:27 am

So I graduated in 2013 and have been teaching English abroad since 2015. I'm planning on teaching for another year as I get my debt under control and study for the LSAT. I had LORs written just before I graduated and stored them with LSAC. While they should be valid for a couple more years, how would schools view them? And how is teaching abroad viewed generally? I'm concerned doing it for two years may look strange.

Also, at what point do I become a non-traditional applicant? I've been away from the TLS hivemind for years, but the general consensus is like 10+ years after UG, right?

Thanks! :wink:

spqr351

New

Re: Three+ years postgrad LORs and other concerns

Post by spqr351 » Tue Dec 20, 2016 11:16 am

Last edited by spqr351 on Thu Dec 29, 2016 9:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Blue664

New

Post by Blue664 » Tue Dec 20, 2016 12:23 pm

I've been out of school for 6 years and using undergrad LORs has been fine - a couple of T14 acceptances under my belt, even as a splitter. I listened to a Yale webinar a couple months ago where the admissions person said using stored undergrad LORs was totally fine, and preferable to having a non-academic LOR.

I'm a total newbie to TLS and the terminology but I've even heard adcoms refer to applicants 3 years out referred to as non-traditional - not sure if this is school-specific or how it plays into admissions?

BigZuck

Diamond

Post by BigZuck » Tue Dec 20, 2016 1:33 pm

You're pretty traditional and yeah it's fine to use those letters

Pozzo

Gold

Post by Pozzo » Tue Dec 20, 2016 1:34 pm