Any chance of a T30 with these numbers?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
MrSam

Bronze

Any chance of a T30 with these numbers?

Postby MrSam » Wed Nov 30, 2016 2:37 pm

Long story short, I decided to take the LSAT, this Saturday. I've been studying for well over a year, and due to personal reasons, I can't wait until next cycle to apply. Anyhow, I'm not really aiming for one of the T5 schools, although, I wouldn't turn any of them down.
I graduated from a state university. My LSAC GPA is slightly above a 4.0. ECs include club VP, 6 months interning with a law firm, and volunteer work with children with disabilities.
The only problem is my LSAT score. My diagnostic was an embarrassingly low 137. My average now is a 157, with a few 160/161 scores here and there.
Do I have a shot at any of the T30 schools? Particularly, those in California. Ideally, I would love to attend UCLA. However, I wouldn't lose any sleep over getting accepted to USC or UCI. Any other schools I should consider?

amta

Platinum

Re: Any chance of a T30 with these numbers?

Postby amta » Wed Nov 30, 2016 2:45 pm

take february.

UC Davis loves a high GPA and will often overlook a low LSAT.

MrSam

Bronze

Postby MrSam » Wed Nov 30, 2016 6:59 pm

amta wrote:take february.

UC Davis loves a high GPA and will often overlook a low LSAT.

I've already registered for Dec. I'm open to retake if things don't go well this Saturday. I'll look into Davis. I know Berkeley values GPA slightly more than some of the other T14, but didn't think that to be true of Davis (relative to the other T30).

amta

Platinum

Postby amta » Wed Nov 30, 2016 7:02 pm

you can still take february even if you are registered and taking december. Berkeley is not going to be kind to a 160 no matter the GPA.

if you absolutely have to apply this cycle, i think buckling down for a february take (6-8 hours a day between now and then) is your best chance to maximize your GPA.

grades??

Silver